Home > Events > Pines of Rome

Pines of Rome

Pines of Rome
Pines of Rome


March 21, 2024




Adult: $15 to $90

Save up to 20% on this performance by becoming a CSO Subscriber >

Doors: 6:30 PM
Concert: 7:30 PM

Jacomo Bairos, the final candidate in the CSO’s Music Director search, takes the podium with his vibrant and nuanced skills for this captivating performance that illuminates the human experience through the artistry of diverse compositions. Chris Rogerson's "Luminosity" sets the stage, capturing the interplay of light and shadow through intricate melodies and dynamic rhythms. Aaron Copland's iconic "Appalachian Spring" follows, conjuring the beauty and simplicity of American life with its pastoral melodies and joyful dances. George Walker's "Lyric for Strings" offers a moment of introspection, as the orchestra's tender harmonies evoke deep emotional resonance. Concluding the performance, Ottorino Respighi's "Pines of Rome" takes listeners on a sonic journey from intimate nocturnal scenes to triumphant Roman vistas, with a vibrant orchestration that resonates with vitality and grandeur.

In celebration of Music in Our Schools Month, this concert is FREE for Music Educators.
(Limit: 2 free tickets per Music Educator. Please reserve tickets in advance online or over the phone at 423-267-8583)

Don't forget your phone or smart device to access our Digital Program Book at the concert!
Learn more about the CSO Digital Program Book >

Or, download and print this .PDF version of the program to bring with you to the concert!
Download PDF >

Chris Rogerson | Luminosity
Aaron Copland | Appalachian Spring
George Walker | Lyric for Strings
Ottorino Respighi | Pines of Rome

Jacomo Bairos | conductor
Learn more >

Jacomo Bairos is one of four candidates in the running to become the CSO's next Music Director. You can learn more about the Music Director Search and the candidates by clicking below.
Learn more >


  • The CSO Masterworks Series is generously sponsored by Barnett & Company
  • This concert is sponsored by: