Third/Bass Trombone

Third/Bass Trombone C+ Contract

Auditions will be held Monday, May 23, 2022

Third/Bass Trombone C+ Contract Information

The CSO currently performs 7 Masterworks concerts, 5 Pops concerts, in addition to other concerts throughout Chattanooga and the surrounding area. Employment to begin September of 2022.

$107.18  per-service, 65 service minimum guarantee
5.5% AFM Pension and Travel reimbursement when applicable.

Applicants should send a one-page resume to

Auditions will be in Chattanooga on Monday, May 23, 2022. Check-in will begin at 8:30am with auditions beginning approximately at 10:00am. Individual warm-up rooms will be made available at least 15 minutes prior to each candidate’s audition time. Lots will be drawn to determine the order that candidates will audition. All preliminary rounds will be screened, but the audition committee reserves the right to remove the screen for the final round. The audition committee reserves the right to dismiss any candidate at any point during his/her audition. Music will not be made available prior to the audition, but music will be available at the audition.

Third/Bass Trombone Audition List for May 23, 2022

Haydn: The Creation

  • No. 26 Chor und Terzett, (beginning—reh. C)


Wagner: The Ride of the Valkyries

  • Pick-up to reh. 11—5 m. after reh. 12


Berlioz: Hungarian March

  • 6 m. before reh. 4—2 m. after reh. 5


Strauss: Ein Heldenleben

  • Reh. 51—reh. 53
  • Reh. 55—2 m. after reh. 56


Hindemith: Symphonic Metamorphosis

  • Turandot, scherzo (reh. H—reh. J)
  • Marsch (reh. G—end)


Respighi: Fountains of Rome

  • Pick-up to reh. 11—5 m. before reh. 16


Kodaly: Hary Janos Suite

  • Movement IV (Poco meno mosso—the bar marked “lunga Pausa”)


Brahms: Symphony No. 1

  • Finale, reh. C—m. 60


Brahms: Symphony No. 4

  • Finale, reh. E—m. 136


Wagner: Das Rheingold, Trombone IV

  • Scene II (beginning—m. 20) 
  • Scene II (at the 2nd section in C major [26 m. after the Più animato in D major], play the first 7 m., through the “pedal E”)


Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 

  • Finale, Andante maestoso (m. 595—m. 626)


Solo: Bach Sarabande (From Cello Suite No. 5)