Dvorak's New World Symphony

October 21, 2021 • 7:30 PM • Memorial Auditorium

Part of the Barnett & Company Masterworks Series 
Kayoko Dan, conductor
Amelia Dicks, piccolo 

Anne Guzzo - Fanfare for Mountains and Peace
Vivaldi - Piccolo Concerto in C Major
Dvorák - Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”

The popular Dvořák Symphony No. 9, also known as the “New World” Symphony, was inspired by Native American music and African-American spirituals. Also featured are contemporary composer Anne Guzzo’s Fanfare for Mountains and Peace, a work that was written to celebrate both the distance and connection between North and South America, and CSO Principal Piccolo Amelia Dicks on Vivaldi’s Piccolo Concerto in C Major.


Please note: We want each CSO supporter and staff member to have a safe and healthy experience as we come together to share our love of live music. To ensure this, attendees should expect to adhere to the following guidelines until further notice when attending concerts in the 21/22 season:

  • All concert attendees must present their vaccination card or a negative COVID-19 test taken within the past 72 hours for entry.
  • All concert attendees, regardless of vaccination status, must wear a mask over their nose and mouth for the duration of the event.

For more on concert health and safety, click here