Top Menu

Barnett & Company Masterworks Series

Sibelius Symphony No. 5
Kayoko Dan, conductor
Kristen Holritz, flute
GRIEG: Lyric Suite
NIELSEN: Flute Concerto
SIBELIUS: Symphony No. 5
Grieg’s Lyric Suite, a beautiful, moving piece by the Norwegian composer, is first up on this concert.

CSO’s own Principal Flute, Kristen Holritz, performs Nielson’s Flute Concerto.  Nielson wrote the piece specifically for the flute player in the Copenhagen Wind Quintet.  The piece is known for beautiful combinations of musical dialogue between the flute and the clarinet, bass trombone, timpani or full orchestra.

Swans were the inspiration for Sibelius’ 5th Symphony.  In his diary, he wrote, “Today I saw 16 swans.  God, what beauty!  They circled over me for a long time.  Disappeared into the solar haze like a silver ribbon.”  The majestic, exhilarating and poignant piece showcases Sibelius’ deepening connection between music and nature.

Navigation Menu